How does a pawn attack in chess?

A pawn attacks by moving one space diagonally to take an opposing piece.

---

A pawn captures diagonally forward one square to the left or right. It can occur after a pawn advances two squares using its initial two-step move option, and the square passed over is attacked by an enemy pawn