How many states are in the north east?

Using the Census Bureau's definition of the Northeast, the region includes ten states: they are Maine, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Pennsylvania. This has been essentially unchanged since 1880 and is used for data tabulation.