Are adams mostly empty space?

Yes, atoms are mostly empty space. The only things in an atom are the nucleus and a cloud of electrons. The electron cloud defines the atom's size, but the electrons themselves take up negligible space in it. The nucleus is tiny compared to the size of the electron cloud.