What is q. i. a.?

The Qatar Investment Authority (QIA; Arabic: جهاز قطر للإستثمار‎) is Qatar's sovereign wealth fund. The QIA was founded by the State of Qatar in 2005 to strengthen the country's economy by diversifying into new asset classes.