What was the first animal to go to the moon?

While many flights into space may have accidentally carried bacteria and other forms of life on board, the first living creatures intentionally sent into space were fruit flies. These were transported aboard a V2 rocket on 20 February 1947.

---

The first (and only) "animal" that went to Moon was in fact ... a Human. No other animals were ever sent there.