What was the first jack o'lantern made out of?

The Original Jack O'Lanterns: On all Hallow's eve, the Irish hollowed out Turnips, rutabagas, gourds, potatoes and beets. They placed a light in them to ward off evil spirits and keep Stingy Jack away.