Why do they call mexican train mexican train?

The game Americans call "Mexican Train" is originally a variation on a Chinese game called Pai Gow, which means "make nine." Cubans learned the game & called it Longana, & Americans confused them with Mexicans and called the game Mexican Train Dominoes because of the long "trains" of dominoes.