Where do raspberries grow?

Raspberries grow best in well-drained loam or sandy-loam soil, rich in organic matter. They're a good choice for northern gardens, while blackberries are better suited to warm, southern climates. Moisture is critical. Raspberries need 1-2 inches of water weekly, especially when fruiting.