How many captains of the enterprise have there been?

Across Star Trek media 18 people have captained at least one ship named Enterprise, with an additional ten captains in either alternate timelines or the mirror universe. Notable captains of a ship named Enterprise include Jonathan Archer, Christopher Pike, James T. Kirk and Jean-Luc Picard.