What does a sponge do?

A diverse sea sponge population can affect water quality on reefs as they filter water, collect bacteria, and process carbon, nitrogen, and phosphorus. Sponges protect reefs against extreme fluctuations in nutrient density, temperature, and light, benefiting the survival of other reef organisms.