What's the difference between tomato sauce and pasta sauce?

Tomato sauce is made from tomatos and spices and can be used as a pasta sauce but pasta sauce is any sauce used to top pasta.

---

Pasta sauce is a type of tomato sauce that has been seasoned to enhance the flavor. While it is possible to use pasta sauce as a replacement for tomato sauce in several dishes, you will likely notice a difference in flavor because it contains more herbs and spices than tomato sauce.