Why doesn't california get hurricanes?

Hurricanes almost never hit California, or the west coast, because cyclones feed on warm sea water—like over 80 degrees. The ocean temperature in the northern Pacific is usually under 75 degrees. In fact, there appears to be no record of a hurricane ever hitting California or the West Coast.