Why does salt make you thirsty?

When the thirst center goes on alert because things are too salty and the body needs water to dilute the salt, that's when you start to feel thirsty. The kidneys help dilute the salt too by slowing down urine production and conserving water.

---

It dehydrates you. Absorbs the water like a dessication mineral. Although the Army used to issue salt tablets for thirst, I don't think they still do that as it can mess up your metabolism