What is pastry curd?

Curd is a sort of pastry cream. Some people call it spread and it is made of eggs, sugar, butter, and fruit juice, usually citrus. The most famous curd is the lemon curd, although it can be made of orange, lime, grapefruit, tangerine or even passion fruit.