What was the benghazi incident?

The Benghazi attack was an attack against two United States government facilities in Benghazi, Libya by the Islamic militant group Ansar al-Sharia. The attack was on September 11, 2012 and resulted in the deaths of U.S. Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens and U.S. Foreign Service Officer Sean Smith.