How do you tell if a dog is sad?

Sad dogs will usually keep their tails low and pinned to their legs or even belly. Some will stay lying in their beds for extended periods of time and show little interest in playing or food. Listlessness and lack of energy can also suggest your dog is not feeling very happy.