Who played the father in knives out?

Bringing the all-star cast murder mystery into the 21st century Knives Out sees the rich and dysfunctional Thrombeys head to the murderous mansion of the leader of the family Harlan Thrombey (played by Christopher Plummer) for his 85th birthday, which also soon becomes his death day.