What is a rake in poker?

In poker, the rake is the term for the commission fee taken by the room operating a poker game. It is generally a percentage of the pot in each poker hand, up to a predetermined maximum amount.

---

Rake is the scaled commission fee taken by a cardroom (casino or poker site) operating a poker game. It is generally 2.5% to 10% of the pot in each poker hand, up to a predetermined maximum amount. There are also other non-percentage ways for a casino to take the rake. PerWikipedia