Does catnip make cats high?

The chemical compound in the plant that attracts and affects cats is called nepetalactone. Nepetalactone is a stimulant when sniffed by a cat, producing a "high.” The effects last for about 10 minutes. When a cat eats catnip it acts as a sedative.