What is cat eye syndrome?

Cat eye syndrome is derived from a distinctive ocular abnormality that is present in a little over half affected individuals. This defect, known as a coloboma, usually appears as a cleft or gap in the iris below the pupil, and the elongated pupil therefore resembles the appearance of a cat's eye.