What qualifies as a gemstone?

To qualify as a gem, the specimen should be hard and tough to resist scratching and have beautiful clarity, colour or 'fire'. Value is based on rarity and rare quality. There are over two hundred recognised gemstones. Most are minerals and are cut from naturally occurring crystals.