What is the origin of saved by the bell?

The idiom 'saved by the bell'is believed to come from boxing slang,when a boxer who is about to lose is 'saved' from defeat by the bell ending the round.However,some experts believe that it comes from an old custom of burying coffins with a bell attached as fear of being buried alive was widespread.