What travels faster than sound?

The speed of sound varies with temperature, pressure, and medium (air, water, steel, etc.). In dry air, at sea level, it's about 760 MPH. Many things can travel faster than that: supersonic jets;tip of a whip being cracked;bullets;the shock wave from an explosion;meteorites;and,of course, light.