What is the difference between french bread and italian bread?

Though most of the ingredients between the 2 variations are similar, the major difference between Italian and French breads are how controlled the 2 are. French bread must be made simply with water, flour, salt and yeast while Italian bread recipes are free to include milk, olive oil and even sugar.