How can you tell if a peach is ripe?

You can get a good idea if a peach is ripe by the texture. Peaches soften as they ripen. But the best way is to smell it.

---

For eating, a peach is ripe when it has a sweet, fruity fragrance and gives when gently squeezed. For cooking, it is ripe when in full color but firm.