Can i use freezer paper instead of parchment paper?

When baking a cake, you can use wax paper instead of parchment to line the bottom of your pan. When baking cookies, you cannot use wax or freezer paper as a substitute. Those will burn and make a mess of your food and your oven. You can spray your cookie sheet with cooking spray to prevent sticking.