What's the difference between lox and nova?

Put very simply, nova is almost a combination of lox and smoked salmon. Named for the salmon of Nova Scotia, nova is made via a process of both curing and smoking. The salmon is cured in salt, similarly to lox, but with less salt, for a milder flavor.