Why are drinks called cocktails?

A popular story from New Orleans has an apothecary by the name of Peychaud (of bitters fame) serving a mixed brandy drink in a French eggcup. Eventually the drink was named coquetier, the French term for an eggcup. Guests shortened the name to 'cocktay,' and eventually it became 'cocktail.