Where did the name patty wagon come from?

I think you mean "paddy wagon". It's an old slang term for police wagon. At the turn of the 20th century in NYC many police were Irishmen. Irishman were often referred to as "paddy", therefore the 'paddy wagon' would be the vehicle they used to transport law breakers to the station.