Why do dogs roll around in the grass?

Rolling around the grass may help loosen up dirt stuck to your dog's back and help him self-groom difficult-to-reach areas.

---

Dogs do this to cover their own scent with one that it finds interesting or important. Think of it as doggy cologne.