Are manatees related to elephants?

Yes, manatee’s closest relative is the elephant. They both descended from a common ancestor, the Tethytheria.

---

Manatees and elephants have a common ancestor. these two types of mammals did both descend from a group of common ancestors known as Tethytheria. . Over time, some of these creatures evolved into the land-dwelling elephants we know today, while others evolved into sea-dwelling manatees.