Are manatees related to elephants?

Manatees and elephants have a common ancestor. these two types of mammals did both descend from a group of common ancestors known as Tethytheria. . Over time, some of these creatures evolved into the land-dwelling elephants we know today, while others evolved into sea-dwelling manatees.