How does a grandfather clock work?

A grandfather clock is powered by the weights and pendulum in its case. Most often, the weight chains are wound against the pendulum axle to keep it swinging. Each swing of the pendulum pushes a gear that powers the rest of the clock mechanism. Wind the weights weekly for smooth function.