Where is upstate new york?

According to Wikipedia, Although the precise boundary is debated, Upstate New York excludes New York City and Long Island, and most definitions of the region exclude all or part of Westchester and Rockland counties. Major cities in Upstate New York from east to west include Albany, Utica, Binghamton