Why is the universe round?

Due to the infinite lack of wisdom we have concerning space, there is no way to truly know the shape of the universe, or if it even has one. However, one might say our solar system is “round” because the planets in it orbit the Sun in a “round” fashion.

---

The universe appears "round" because we can only see a certain distance, about 13 billion light years, in any direction. There may be much more further away that we cannot see but we can't say anything definite about it's extent and if that varies from one direction to another.