What's the origin of the name oliver?

The name Oliver, is derived from the old Norse name, Áleifr, meaning “ancestor’s descendent.” Introduced by the Normans to England, the name also has roots in France. In French, olivier means "olive tree." It was later associated with the Latin word oliva, which means “olive.”