What does yakima mean?

Yakima is the name of an indian tribe of Sahaptin people of the lower Yakima river in south central Washington. The history of the word is not exactly known. It may be from the Yakima river, so named by the tribe. The literal interpretation in the Yakima language is: Pregnant ones.