What is wiener schnitzel made out of?

Wiener schnitzel was originally a cutlet of veal, cut from the leg, pounded very thin, breaded and sautéed in butter until golden & crispy. Now, the cutlet may be made using a piece of pork or chicken pounded very thin, breaded and fried. The exact place of origin is a matter of some disagreement.