How many people are descendants of genghis khan?

16 million people are descendants of genghis khan. A group of geneticists studying Y-chromosome data found that nearly 8 percent of the men living in the region of the former Mongol empire carry y-chromosomes that are nearly identical. That translates to roughly 16 million descendants living today.