What's the difference between a fruit and a legume?

Fruits can be eaten raw, and may or may not need to be peeled, such as a banana, pineapple, watermelon and nectarines. The legume family includes beans, peas, lentils, soybeans (or soy nuts), and peanuts, and can be cooked and served as a meal.