What is pickle ginger?

Pickled ginger, or Gari, is made from sweet, thinly sliced ginger that has been marinated in a solution of sugar and vinegar. Younger ginger is generally preferred because of its tender flesh and natural sweetness. It is often served and eaten after sushi, and is sometimes called sushi ginger.

---

Ginger is a root, well known for gingerbread, ginger ale, and many oriental dishes. Pickled ginger is ginger which has been pickled, usually after being sliced thin. Pickled ginger is commonly served as a side or garnish with sushi. Ginger has a pale tan color.