What's the origin of the word depot?

Depot came into English from the French word dépôt, meaning "a deposit, place of deposit." A depot can be a place like a warehouse where items are temporarily deposited, but we also use it for a train or bus station. In this case it's a place where a many passengers are being temporarily housed.