Who created ships?

The ancient Phoenicians are credited with the oldest discovered sea faring hulled boat. It is the Late Bronze Age Uluburun shipwreck off the coast of Turkey, dating back to 1300 BC. By 1200 B.C., the Phoenicians were building large merchant ships.