Why does sulfur stink?

Pure sulfur actually has no smell. The stink associated with the element comes from many of its compounds. For example, sulfur compounds called mercaptans give skunks their defensive odor while rotten eggs and stink bombs get their distinctive aroma from hydrogen sulfide.