What's in a salad?

"Salad" is a general term for dishes combining many ingredients without being cooked like casseroles. Green salads are made with lettuce, spinach, and toppings. Jello salads are made with jello, whipped cream, and fruit. Potato and meat salads feature mayonnaise.