When was the first root canal performed?

The earliest recorded effort to perform treatment on a root canal happened in 1766. An English dentist named Robert Woofendale brought over a method of treating diseased teeth by destroying the infected pulp by cauterization, or burning the pulp to close off the tooth from infection.