Why are there stink bugs?

Every living thing has evolved a particular niche in life and makes use of opportunities necessary for survival, stink bugs are omnivores which mean that they eat vegetable matter and caterpillars. The reason there are stink bugs is because they perform a job in life they have succeeded at.