How long does it take for green tomatoes to turn red?

Standard-sized tomatoes take 20 to 30 days from blossom set to reach full size, commonly called “mature green”; they take another 20 to 30 days to ripen, that is begin to change color. A tomato can be picked when it begins to change color from green to red, pink, yellow, or orange, per the cultivar.