What is the difference between mexican oregano and ground oregano?

The word "ground" just means turned into powder, so I think you mean Mexican vs. Italian oregano. Each plant comes from completely different families so their flavor is different. Mexican is pungent and citrusy with a subtle anise undertone; Italian has a slightly sweeter, more subtle flavor