Is kosher salt a sea salt?

For the purpose of cooking, there is no difference between kosher salt and sea salt. Kosher salt is pure salt and has a clean flavor. Sea salt is harvested from the ocean, and will have micro nutrients and other subtle flavors that are not present in kosher salt.