What's the difference between a tangerine and a clementine?

Though the fruits belong to the same family of mandarin oranges, the two are visibly different from each other. While the tangerine has a pebbly skin without deep grooves that make it a slight bit tougher to peel, the clementine has smooth and shiny skin making it easy to peel.